Perfume cover

Summary: Jean-Baptiste Grenouille was abandoned at birth and raised in an orphanage. As he grew he learned of his unique gift, a superhuman sense of smell. Infatuated with odors, he learns the techniques to make perfume. While learning Grenouille becomes obsessed with the scent of a woman. Thus begins his journey to capture the essence of a woman in a bottle.

2006 2hour 27minutes
Watched on Netflix
I rate this film a 4.8 out of 5
Directed by: Tom Tykwer
Produced by: Bernd Eichinger
Based on: Perfume by Patrick Suskind
Starring: Ben Wishaw, Alan Rickman, Rachel Hurd-Wood, Dustin Hoffman

WARNING – this movie is dark and creepy.
The main reason why I didn’t rate this film a solid 5 is because of how very slow it was.. Which makes sense since it’s 2.5hour long film. The actor for Jean Grenouille (Ben Wishaw) played his character very well. I was nervous anytime he was around other people. Convincing stalker that gave me goose bumps quite often. An intense film that I just had to finish, no matter how slow it was progressing. I definitely recommend this movie to those who love horror/thriller genres.

perfume Collage

 

BIG SPOILER

The ending is quite absurd. The entire film I’m curious to see if Grenouille will ever find what he’s looking for. I wanted to see what he does to capture a person’s scent, how believable it is. Which, without a background in science, I think it could be plausible. However, when you get to the end of the movie things take a very unexpected turn. I will write it just for those who are not comfortable with this sort of thing WARNING SPOILER ALERT – there is a ridiculous orgy scene. I was caught off guard and it would have made me speechless if I hadn’t been thinking “What the hell?”. I’m a bit unsatisfied with the ending but I still liked the movie.

